Rambling: Can I Go Running Yet?

It’s Tuesday. It’s been more than 24 hours since I was last on the Lakefront Trail, and I swear, I’m going crazy. I read that this can happen to runners training, but I never thought it would happen to me.

I’m starting to get addicted to running. If something threatens my time to spend running, I get extremely cranky and shut the idea down immediately. If I think I’m able to do something after the time it takes me to run (like work or produce a podcast or meet – anything that needs to be pre-scheduled, basically,) then I’m anxious for the whole day and can’t focus on anything. I start to be short with people. Basically…

Image

So I guess I’m posting this as an “I’m sorry” to anyone I have to talk to until 4:30pm today. Just let me get my eight miles in and then I’ll be a pocket full of sunshine. I guess I’m not sure if this half marathon training thing is actually good for me yet, since it’s putting my mental state in a place that leaves something to be desired. 

Help me. Someone. Someone please, please help me.

 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “Rambling: Can I Go Running Yet?”

Leave a Reply

