Rambling: Green Streak

Over the weekend, I did something I never thought I’d ever do. I dyed part of my hair green. Yes, green.

Image

 

Obviously, this picture isn’t the best lighting or anything, but you can see it there: green.

Why did I do this?
I’m running the Get Lucky! Chicago Half Marathon in a couple weeks (two from this Saturday, to be exact,) and it’s my first half marathon. I paid about $90 to do this, so I’m definitely overhyping it. Anyways, it’s a St. Patty’s day run, so everything regarding the race is green. What do I decide to do? Dye part of my hair green. I’m not sure if I’m actually trying to be unique or something, but I like it so far.

I was walking to class this afternoon when it actually hit me:  oh my god, part of my hair is greenI never would have thought a year ago I’d have green hair, but then again, a year ago I never thought I’d be in shape enough to run a half marathon, and actually have a chance at a decent time for it. (Aside: I ran a total of 28 miles this weekend – 8 on Thursday afternoon, 10 on Saturday, and 10 on Sunday. Wow. I still can’t believe I did that.)

Anyway, I guess the point of this one is to show how kind of astounded I feel because I’ve changed so much since moving to Chicago. I feel so much more confident (something that felt shattered after this past summer,) and I also know myself so much better. I know my strengths, I understand some of the problems I have as a person, and I know a lot more about my personality. Which kind of sounds weird, but I guess I just didn’t learn enough about that in high school. Between spending a summer with Spirit, moving to Chicago, working however many jobs I actually have, and living with new people, I’ve learned more about myself and I think I’m starting to get a feel for my place in the world.

And that’s why I’ll walk down Michigan Avenue with confidence in my green streak.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “Rambling: Green Streak”

Leave a Reply

