Rambling: First Rest Day

Sometimes, you’re at a point where there’s so much to talk about, you’re tweeting sixteen times a day and wanting to post somewhere around eight Facebook statuses and your Tumblr feed is full of your “#personal” text posts. It’s not one days of those times for me. True, I’ve probably tweeted somewhere around five or six times today, but that’s because I had something I thought was funny to say or a sarcastic bit about my Meteorology class… but it’s not something I can write a blog post on. And that’s one of the things I really wanted to do today, was write a blog post. Prepare for the run-on sentences.

The only problem is, I have a paper due tomorrow and I should probably get a jump start on all the reading that is going to be due Thursday since I’m booked on Tuesday and Wednesday nights and I could be getting homework done so I can watch movies and run all weekend and so I’m not stressed out and therefore have my face break out or complain to anyone…

But no. I’m just sitting here at work (where I could be getting my paper written and leave tonight for other activities,) and read other people’s blogs, scroll through tumblr for the eighteenth time today, and think about writing a blog post. (Obviously, I’m not just thinking anymore, I’m typing it all out,) but I’m still procrastinating nonetheless. I don’t even know where I’m going to go for this paper. 700 words of vomit, that’s probably where it’s going to end up.

Anyway, I guess this is just a blog post made out of the irritation that is Erika on a rest day. In case you missed it, I’m running my first half marathon in less than four weeks, and I’ve been kind of training like crazy. My last run clocked in at just over an hour for 7.33 miles, which is pretty stellar for the “trail” conditions in Chicago right now. Running helps me take a step back, slow down, and remember why I love living in the city. I get killer views of the skyline and I get to spend time by the lake, which, for a northern Minnesota girl, is as good as it gets here in the big city. 

And now it’s snowing again. Which is making me all kinds of stressed out for the coming week of training (by the end of this week, we’ll be doing NINE MILE RUNS) and for race day itself. But it’s a good stressed. It’s an excited stressed. I just wish I could be running more often. 

So, yeah, this rest day sucks. It sucks having two three-hour classes (neither of which are the best classes) and working (helloooooo procrastination), and not getting to blow off any steam that built up over the day. 

Right Now: Publish this blog post, start my paper, eat dinner, finish my paper, watch a documentary

Tomorrow: two classes, eight mile run, and dinner out on the town (homework permitting.) Tomorrow will be better.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

