Rambling: Cut My Bangs Too Short (and other thoughts)

Even before I got to college, I saw no point in spending large amounts of money to get my hair done. I haven’t had a professional hair cut in over four years, and I’ve probably saved upwards of about $300 doing so. My friend has dyed my hair, cut it, and restyled it basically in the whole time of our friendship. Now that I’m paying a lot of school and food, I really don’t have the budget to be getting haircuts, especially in downtown Chicago. The only thing I’ve really needed to worry about are my bangs, and since my ‘stylist’ cut them to be straight-across back in August, it hasn’t been too difficult for me to cut them (which is saying a lot, since I can barely even braid my hair.) That being said, I’ve cut them a little too short this time, I think.

The weird thing about hair for me is I never really think about it unless I can see it. True, sometimes I play with my bangs because it’s where a lot of my cowlicks live, and yeah, if it’s down I’ll probably flip it over my shoulder once or twice or six times throughout the course of a day… but I’m never all that concerned with the style of it.

Which is why it was odd for me to wake up this morning, have the first thought be “Oh crap, fell asleep with wet hair, this is going to be a brilliant day,” and my thoughts (more characteristically) immediate went to “Oh shit, I haven’t recorded my breaks for my Friday show,” which were supposed to be in the dropbox this morning. Leading to my first words of the day: “Oh shit, goddamn it.” Which is not how I usually start my mornings.

I’m not sure how I found a parallel between my hair being a mess and radio, but that’s where I am at this point in my life. Finding strange connections to things that really don’t go together well at all. But for some reason, in my mind and in my life, they do. Especially when I have a lot of reading to do in a short amount of time. Unfortunately, when I’ve got a deadline approaching on reading assignments, that’s when I have my best and most blog ideas too. *sigh.* The problems of being me.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

