Rambling: WhY am I DoING THiS HaLF MarAthON

I’ve thought a lot about the post that I wrote and published on Thursday. A large part of those thoughts have to do with my writing and rhetoric class (we had a workshop on Thursday that made me think a lot more about my life and really evaluate things, more than I wanted to. I almost couldn’t handle it. Thank god for froyo and afternoon runs.) 

Anyway, I’ve come to terms with the facts that I stated in that last post, but not enough to actually start talking about it. I almost tried to tell my dad, but that… well, it didn’t happen. Instead I decided to run a half marathon in less than five weeks. Have I ran a half marathon before? No. What’s the furthest I’ve ever ran? Six and a half miles. And that was last week. And it took me just over an hour. Do I feel like I’m ready to do this? No, not quite. Will I be ready to do this? I sure to god hope so. I’ve come up with a training plan that will hopefully get me as ready as I can be to do this. Each run increases by either one or two miles, the longest run I’ll do prior to race day is roughly twelve miles, and I’ve built in one day of cross training (zumba, since that’s what works with my schedule and the weather), and one for either rest or cross training. Sounds like a pretty decent plan, right? I sure hope so. It’s all I got.

To answer the question posed in the title, though, is that I think I’ve figured it out. I think I’m a person who operates best when working towards some kind of goal. All through high school, I had the goal of college. What pushed me through to the end of senior year was the goal of marching drum corps. All summer I had the goal to be the best I could be. I’m not really sure what the goal was first semester of school, maybe it was just to survive or to figure it all out… but that’s what maybe threw me off. Second semester started and I was left with what felt like no goals to work towards. Sure, I had planned for the half marathon in June, and yeah, I’m still hoping to march with Minnesota Brass this summer, but nothing I felt like I really had to work for.

What’s the first thing that pops into my mind? I guess to just bump the half marathon goal up two months. It doesn’t even make sense to me, really, I guess, but that’s what’s happening. Get Lucky Chicago Half Marathon/7K, let’s do this thing. March 15th! 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

