Rambling: Sore Assumptions

Today, someone said something to me that kind of made me a little angry. We were getting up to file into the classroom, and I mention something around the lines of “Oh, zumba last night made me a little sore!” I said this happily, because I don’t really get sore all that easily, and one of my class mates replied sassily “Don’t say anything about being sore.” She’s a dance major so, of course, they dance. And they dance a lot. They’re going to be sore a lot of the time. 

This made me mad because I actually do understand a lot the physical pain she’s probably in. Because, believe it or not, when you’re doing drum corps (color guard, specifically) for sixteen-plus hours a day for four weeks straight, you get to know sore pretty darn well. 

On top of that, I am currently training for a half marathon. So on top of doing zumba last night, today I went for a 6.5 mile run. The first “long run” of the year. It kind of ticks me off that she thinks that I, “just a lowly radio student,” doesn’t understand what sore is. 

I knew this wouldn’t be a lengthy post, because I have a lot of homework I need to be doing tonight (also… I really want to watch Parks and Recreation…) So I need to get cracking. 

Just please, don’t assume things. Ever. The person next to you may understand better than you think they do.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

