Rambling: On Writing

Between the few college classes I’ve taken already that have had anything to do with writing, the J-Term Project, and this new blog here, I’ve come to terms with two things: (1) I hate revisions, and (2) I’m a blogger-type of writer. Which means a few things.

Being a blogger-type of writer has more to do with it than anything, but I like to write things the way that I would say them. I blame that on my writing-for-radio training and the fact that I’m a pretty casual person. Being a blogger-type of writer means that I like to write things once, and then never ever look at them again. Maybe check the stats every once in awhile, just to see if what I’m doing has any substance to “views” or whatever. Like I said, pretty casual.

All of this is probably not ideal, based on what I’ve decided to pursue for a career. Right now, I’m majoring in radio with a minor in journalism, because I hope to do things like This American Life, and the production side is what is looking appealing at the moment. But aren’t journalists supposed to like writing professionally? They stick to the facts, write pretty professionally, and sound good. I sure don’t write anything that’s false, but I don’t write professionally in any way/shape/form, and I don’t think that what I write sounds good. So what the heck am I doing with this journalism thing? 

Hopefully, once I actually start doing Journalism-y-type-things that will start to appear more apparent, but who knows. Maybe I’m doomed forever to the radio/blog-writer style forever.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “Rambling: On Writing”

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

