Assignment: An Honors Class Ice Breaker

With the first week of classes comes the ‘dreaded’ getting-to-know-you games over and over again. The new faces that fill the room start to have names, a hometown, and majors. But all of the new information does not usually stick – too much new information in such a short amount of time. In this honors class, I thought that maybe, just maybe, we would not spend so much time on it. Even though we spent the whole class on the ice breaker, it was not as monotonous. Somehow, I feel like I already know my classmates in Writing and Rhetoric II: Honors pretty well.

The first question that took me by surprise was the geographical question ‘where do your people come from?’ The instructions were to stand at a place in the class room geographically related to where we thought that ‘our people’ came from, and the term ‘our people’ was left up to us to decided what we thought it meant. I wanted to move to the southern part of the United States at first, where the majority of my drum corps friends live, the people that understand me a lot better than most people. I wanted to stand in the Chicago cluster, too, since I have found so many people here that I feel pretty close to. I also considered staying in my Minnesota space, since that is where I grew up, and I still have a lot of friends and family there, so that is the place I still identify with. I ended up in the “Scandinavia in general” area because I felt like that was the easiest to explain to the class. What everyone had to say was interesting and helped me understand how they view themselves in the world.

What I liked about the time line questions, was that everyone ended up opening up a lot more than I expected them to. Being someone who has not been thought of as “honor student material”, it was nice to be in a room full of those that are a little more faster-thinking and who actually consider their answer, and not just taking it from the surface value. I think my favorites were the storytelling question and the activism question. They sure made things ‘escalate quickly.’

I found myself thinking more and more about the storytelling question. I stand by my position I said in class on story telling – kind of in the middle of neutral and ‘good’. I think of This American Life. Ira Glass is the type of radio personality I would like to be, if I decide to go that route. He is calm, collected, and it seems like he knows what his guests are going to say before they say it. Maybe they do it through some sly post-production, but Ira does have a way of speaking that just makes you believe him. Which is why I hope to be a part of that type of radio broadcast some day.

What exactly defines activism? I feel as though it is something you do to make the world a better place, but the dictionary definition is “the policy or action of using vigorous campaigning to bring about political or social change.” I thought about it from a more personal aspect, because I feel as though our world has lost some of that. Who sends a thank-you card any more? It seems that even in the new age of constant connectivity, we have lost that “personal touch” that makes us different from other living beings. One of the best parts of the human experience (to me) is creating inter-personal relationships with other people; making connections that last a lifetime. When you find your group of people, and you can make things happen with them that both bring you joy and make the world a better place, it seems like a win-win all around.

I liked this ice breaker a lot more than other classes that have a get-to-know-you ordeal. It was much more stimulating and helped me get to know my fellow class mates better. The people and subject matter in this class excites me, and I look forward to the rest of the semester.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

