Rambling: Four Tabs for Running

I step outside of my building in Chicago’s south loop, on my way to my second class of the day, and I’m struck by a thought: It’s warm enough to be outside, short of a hat and a pair of mittens, and I’m completely comfortable right now. Of course, I’ll walk around without that and feel okay, but this is one of the first days I’ve actively noticed how nice out it feels.

Naturally, the first thing I think of that would make today the perfect day is a run. I’ve spent about fifty bucks on concert tickets, I’ll be buying protools before I go to work, today is a pretty good day. It’s perfect now that it’s nice out… except… I don’t have any time to get out on the trail by the lake to run for 45 minutes. Which is all I want to do right now.

Cabin fever has officially bit me. I’m tired of working out in the gym, I’m so done with eating inside and doing inside activities – I’m ready to be able to stroll around Grant Park or eat outside at some random café or coffee place and do homework or attempt to write more to my documentary. Heavy emphasis on the running outside though. I miss it so, so, much.

Currently, I’m in Meteorology class with nine tabs open on my browser, four of which have to do with running in Chicago. Half Marathons. I’ve already planned to run Grandma’s Half Marathon in Duluth, MN on Saturday, June 21st… And I’m going stir crazy. I cannot wait any more to start training, mostly because I know how much work it’s going to be, and I want to just get started already.

Alright. Break’s over. I guess I need to get my mind off of running and get it back on weather. If it ever really was on weather.

PS – I don’t really know what I expect to do with this blog. When I have more than 140 characters worth of something to say, I definitely think I’ll be using this. Along with posting the assignments I do for my many writing classes that I think are kind of good. So stay tuned. I’ll be attempting to get better at everything I do – and posting about it here.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

